Pakistan - An Overview


Founder of Pakistan

Quaid-e-Azam Muhammad Ali Jinnah

Pakistan named by Ch. Rehmat Ali

Pakistan dreamed by Allama Muhammad Iqbal

23rd March Pakistan Day (Resolution Day)

14th August Pakistan Independence Day

Provinces- PUNJAB, SINDH, Baluchistan, Khyber Pakhtonkha. (Gilgit Baltistan and Azad Kashmir)

Lahore, Karachi, Peshawar, Quetta


Airline- Pakistan International Airlines

Labour force               59.7 million

People employed        56.0 million

Copper                       12.3 million tonnes

Gold                           20.9 million ounces

Coal                           175 billion tonnes

Shale Gas                  105 trillion cubic feet

Shale Oil                     9 billion barrels

Gas production            4.2 billion cubic feet/day

Oil production              70,000 barrels/day

Iron ore                       500 million

Kehwara Salt Mines     2nd Largest in the world.

Official name  Islamic Republic of Pakistan

Form of Government  Federal Republic With Two Legislative Houses

(Senate [104]; National Assembly [342])

Head of state President: Mamnoon Hussain

Head of government :   Prime Minister: Nawaz Sharif

Capital                         Islamabad

Official language:      English may be used for official purposes. Urdu is the national (not yet official) language as of mid-2013

Monetary unit              Pakistani rupee (PKR)

Population                   (2014 est.) 196,174,000

Time zone: Pakistan Standard Time UTC+05

Extreme points of Pakistan            

High:   Mountain K2   8,611 m (28,251 ft) is the second highest mountain on Earth

Low:    Arabian Sea 0 m

Land boundaries:   6,774 km

India (including the disputed LoC is 2,912 km)

Afghanistan 2,430 km         Iran 909 km        China 523 km

Coastline: Arabian Sea 1,046 km

Area of Pakistan:   803,940 km2


Where is Pakistan? 


The Islamic Republic of Pakistan is a country located in South Asia. It is bordered by Afghanistan and Iran to the west, India to the east, Arabian Sea and Gulf of Oman to the south, and China to the northeast. It lies adjacent to Tajikistan but it separated by Wakhan Corridor. Pakistan shares its marine border with Oman. 


What is the capital of Pakistan? 


Islamabad is the capital of Pakistan, and the tenth largest city in the country. It is located on the Porthohar Plateau and was the first habitation of the Aryan community. With an estimated population of 1,330,000, it became the capital of Pakistan in 1960.


What is the religion of Pakistan? 


Islam is the state religion of Pakistan. Approximately 97% of the population is Muslim. The remaining population are Parsis, Hindu, Sikh, Buddhists, Bahais and Animists


What is the official language of Pakistan? 


Urdu is the national language, while English is the official language of Pakistan. English is used in official business, government, and legal contracts. There are more than sixty languages spoken in the country. Other recognized regional languages are Balochi, Sindhi, Pashto, Punjabi, and Saraiki. 


What is the currency of Pakistan? 


Pakistani rupee is the official currency of Pakistan and is issued by the State Bank of Pakistan. Its ISO 4217 code is PKR. 


What is the literacy rate of Pakistan? 


The literacy rate of Pakistan is very low. In 2006, the adult literacy rate in Pakistan was 53%. Female literacy was 31.5%, while male literacy was just above 60%. 


Who is the head of state? 


Pakistan is a Federal Parliamentary republic. The President of the country is elected by an electoral college. He is the head of the state and the Commander-in-chief of the Armed Forces.


When is the National Day of Pakistan celebrated? 

The nation of Pakistan was created on August 14, 1947. It was granted independence from Britain and was made up of Balochistan, Punjab, Sindh, and the Khyber Pakhtoonkha.